History Of The Trust

The Applied Probability Trust is a not-for-profit foundation for study and research in the mathematical sciences, founded in 1964 with the initial support of the London Mathematical Society. The Trust has been associated with the School of Mathematics and Statistics at The University of Sheffield since 1965, and this is the site of the Trust’s editorial office.

Current Trustees

The board is chaired by Remco van der Hofstad who took over this role in 2021 from Frank Kelly FRS.


Previous Trustees

  • Joe Gani (1964-2016)
  • Norma McArthur (1964-1984)
  • Edward Hannan (1964-1994)
  • London Mathematical Society (1964-2008)
  • Christopher Heyde (1984-2008)
  • Søren Asmussen (2008-2020)
  • Frank Kelly (2008-2021)